Want Google to stop tracking you and your online activities? Read it

A new report has claimed that even if you turn off location history in your Google account, some Google apps still store your location data. This can happen even if you open the Google Maps app or use Google Search on any platform. It keeps a log of your precise location as well as a time stamp.

However, following a 2018 Associated Press investigation, any location is protected with data features like maps and search that give you quick access to your location controls. Therefore, Google should know what is being deleted and what is being checked.

Turn off location history and only remove data about where you were from the Maps timeline feature. Even when disabled, like your web and app activity, “some location data may still be saved in other settings.” Google said it uses the data to make features more personal and useful and will never share this information with third parties or advertisers. But with a few simple steps, you can stop Google from knowing where you are 24/7.

Note that there are a few drawbacks to disabling this setting. Although Google’s settings may seem intrusive to some users, they help create a personalized online experience, such as helping people find nearby amenities or display personalized ads. Google claims that its services provide users with relevant, rather than random, information.

How to turn off Google tracking and what are the consequences.

To turn off Google’s location tracking, you must be logged in to close completely.

1. Open Google on your desktop or mobile web browser. Log into your Google account.

2. Click on your user icon in the upper right corner and select Manage your Google Account.

3. Click on Privacy and Personalization.

4. Click on what you did and where you went.

5. In the history settings, click on the location history. This opens up operational controls.

6. Under Location History, click the button on the right that appears. This opens a pop-up window.

7. Scroll to the bottom of this window and click on the Pause option.

How to prevent Google from storing your locations on Maps:

Tinkering with this setting prevents Google from storing location markers related to specific activities and stops storing information it has gathered from search or other activities. If you turn it off, your approximate location and other places you visit are kept private. Google should always access your location for efficient use of features like Maps. However, following the steps above will prevent you from storing your future activities.

Turning off tracking means you’ll see less relevant ads and less helpful search recommendations. It can also impact the overall personal experience with the search engine and Google apps and services. For those who like personalized ads, turning off tracking will prevent Google from predicting what to watch out for.

Disabling tracking will prevent Google from storing new location information, but it will not delete data previously collected. Here’s how to remove this information:

1. Open Google on your desktop or mobile web browser. Log into your Google account.

2. Navigate to the user icon in the upper right corner. Select the Manage your Google Account option.

3. Click on Privacy and Personalization.

4. Click on what you did and where you went.

5. Click on a location

6. Click on manage history at the bottom of the page. A card with a timeline opens in the upper left corner. The map shows where you were and the timeline shows where you were at that time.

7. To remove your location for a specific date, click the date on the timeline. Click the trash can icon next to the date. In the pop-up window, click delete day.

8. To delete your entire location history at once, click the trash can icon in the lower right corner of the map. In the pop-up window, check the box to delete location history. Click delete location history.

Google is reducing the amount of data it stores when creating a new account. Data for 18 months of web and app activity is stored by default. Here’s how to prevent Google from collecting future web and app activity:

1. Open Google on your desktop or mobile web browser. Log into your Google account.

2. Click the user icon in the upper right corner. Select the Manage your Google Account option.

3. Click on Privacy and Personalization.

4. Click on what you did and where you went.

5. Click on the web and app function in the history settings area. This opens up operational controls.

6. Click under Web & App Activity.

7. In the pop-up window, click pause.

Delete all your web and Google apps activity

If you’ve blocked Google from collecting your web and app activity, Google still has pre-existing data. Take a look at the steps to remove previous web and app activity.

1. Open Google on your desktop or mobile browser. Log into your Google account.

2. Once logged in, navigate to the user icon in the upper right corner. Select the Manage your Google Account option.

3. Click on Privacy and Personalization.

4. Click on what you did and where you went.

5. Click on the web and app function in the history settings area. This opens up operational controls.

6. At the bottom of the screen, click Manage all web and application activity.

7. Under find your activity, right click on delete.

8. A new window will display options to delete your web and app activity for the last hour, last day, all time, or from a custom range. Select all the time.

9. A new window will open asking you to select the services you want to deactivate. Select All is selected automatically, but you can browse it and choose which apps or services you want to remove information from.

10. A pop-up window will open, confirming that you want to remove the next function at the top. Click on.

Read also

iOS 15 has reached at least 60% of Apple devices

Instagram Introduces New Playback Feature to Show Recap of ‘Best Stories’ of 2021

With the iOS 15.2 update, Apple will add a new feature that will automatically indicate when to repair your iPhone.

Last updated December 14, 2021 at 9:14 am IST


Source link

Comments are closed.